New Fibre 500 is slow only on wifi (bridge mode with Ubiquiti AC PRO Access Point)

StupFD
Grasshopper

I have been running Shaw 300mb regular internet for about 3 years. The modem is in bridge mode and wifi is via Ubiquiti Pro Access Point. Every speed test was consistently running about 325MB.

I have just upgraded to Fibre 500 this past week. When I connect my laptop directly to the modem via ethernet, speeds are about 530mb down and 120mb up so both above what I should be getting. As soon as I connect to WiFi, speeds are dropping to 50mb down and 45mb up. I have tried resetting my entire server - (1 Unifi Switch, 1 Unifi POE 250W & 1 Unifi Gateway Pro). 

Has anyone experienced something similar?

Labels (1)
5 Replies

-- As soon as I connect to WiFi, speeds are dropping to 5...

mdk
Legendary Grand Master

@StupFD -- As soon as I connect to WiFi, speeds are dropping to 50mb down and 45mb up.

You state that the Ethernet adapter is your laptop is fine -- running at 1000 Mbps/second, but the upgraded modem is "throttling" you to the 500/100 speeds that you are paying for.

But, what is the capability of the WiFi adapter inside your laptop, when you connect it directly to the new BlueCurve? NOTE: since you have "bridged" the BlueCurve, you must "unbridge" it, to re-activate its built-in WiFi adapter, before your laptop can connect via WiFi.

Wireless G, up to 56 Mbps?

Wireless N, up to 150 Mbps?

Wireless N with "bonding" of two channels, up to 300 Mbps?

Wireless AC, which some contributors on this forum report that Shaw limits to 433 Mbps, but is capable of 1200 Mbps?

Got a recent iPhone? When you run the Shaw SpeedTest while directly-connected via WiFi to your BlueCurve, what speed do you get?

0 Kudos

seems your services is fine. You are getting correct ethe...

rickatk
Master

@StupFD wrote: