AnsweredAssumed Answered

DNS Issue?

Question asked by litho on Sep 25, 2013
Latest reply on Sep 30, 2013 by cdearborn

Greetings from Winnipeg Manitoba.

To the point, I've been experiencing some DNS issues, mainly when I try to visit a gaming community website I'm an administrator of. I get the generic error message "Connection Timed Out". I can still access the internet just fine.

I've tested my connection using a few devices, ipod touch, ipad, laptop, PC desktop. and from my cell phone with a different provider. From my local network I'm unable to connect to the website using my laptop or desktop tried both LAN and WiFi. However with my ipod and ipad on my local network WiFi I'm able to connect to the website and access my account just fine.

I know the issue isn't with the website as I'm able to connect an access it just fine on other networks..whats puzzling is on my local network I can access it with my Ipod and Ipad.

Here are a list of things I've tried since last week when the issue occurred. All this on my desktop.

• Start \ Run \ type CMD typed Ping wasp-inc.com (100% packet loss on all 4 packets sent.)
  • Start \ Run \ type CMD typed Ping Website IP 198.211.123.144. (100% packet loss on all 4 packets sent.)
  • Start \ Run \ type CMD typed tracert wasp-inc.com (first result local network ip, second request timed out, 4 thru10 all return routes,  11 to 15 all timed out.- over 30 hops)
  • Start \ Run \ type CMD typed tracert website IP 198.211.123.144 (first result local network ip, second request timed out, 4 thru10 all return routes,  11 to 15 all timed out.- over 30 hops)
  • Start \ Run \ type CMD typed netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt
  • Tried different browsers (Firefox, IE, Opera, Chrome, Palemoon)
  • Tested the website to see if it was down from services like | Down For Everyone Or Just Me -> Check if your website is down or up?
  • Power cycling the modem (SMCD3GN)